Full list of six local govts, nine lcdas lagos placed okada ban
Spread the love

The list of six Local Governments and nine Local Government Development Areas the government of Lagos state placed the Okada ban has been made public.

Recall that Lagos State Governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, today imposed a fresh ban on operations of commercial motorcycles popularly called Okada following the lynching and murder of a sound engineer in Lekki, Lagos.

The governor gave out the directive at a meeting with the Commissioner of Police, Area Commanders, and Divisional Police Officers at the State House in Alausa on Wednesday.

Effective from June 1, 2022, the governor directed security operatives to enforce the proscription order across the listed councils.

See also  [Video] Moment Police Catch Two Toddlers Thrown Out of Burning Building By Their Mum 

The fresh Okada ban followed the February 2020 restriction placed on the activities of commercial motorcycles.

Sanwo-Olu said the government took the decision in line with the State’s Transport Sector Reform Law of 2018 to immediately address the chaos and menace created by the operations of Okada in the listed areas.

See also  FG Gives Update On Ending Lingering ASUU Strike

The affected councils are Eti-Osa, Ikeja, Surulere, Lagos Island, Lagos Mainland, and Apapa.

Full list of affected local governments and local council development areas

Apapa Iganmu LCDA

Ojodu LCDA
Onigbongbo LCDA

Lagos Island
Lagos Island West LCDA
Lagos Island East LCDA

See also  A woman whose face was completely bruised after being beaten by her fiancé announced that she would support him and plan to go ahead with the marriage.

Lagos Mainland

Coker Aguda LCDA
Itire-Ikate LCDA

Eti-Osa East LCDA
Eti-Osa West LCDA
Iru Victoria Island LCDA
Ikoyi-Obalende LCDA

Sanwo-Olu said the total ban order extends to all LCDAs under the listed councils.

The governor advised residents patronizing Okada riders on highways to embrace the alternative transport schemes already provided by the government to plan their journey.